[v6 General Discussion] Why Was The Decision To NOT Support Shortcuts Made?

I have been using EW2009 very successfully with shortcuts for five years. I have seen little difference in EW6 when using shortcuts except when dealing with PowerPoint files but using "real" files is only slightly better. It defeats the purpose of sharing on a network since it requires putting profile in non-standard location. It also requires schedules to contain full copies of media files; another poor decision. Windows behaves as though though shortcuts are the real thing when opening a file which is EW's main use of media.

I developed scripts to maintain the resource folders with media shortcuts, adding and removing shortcuts as needed; automating the EW2009 processes. I could confidently create schedules at home that worked at the church with no problems. In EW6 I don't have that reassuring feeling. With EW2009 there was 99% chance of success while EW6 it's 75-80%; things work sometimes which as you know is not good. I would prefer to pray that the presentation reaches the congregation's heart instead of their eyes.

I purchased the upgrade because it was an excellent deal and I had (still do) confidence the issues would be resolved. My implementation date has long past; in the interim our worship pastor is preparing for foreign mission work and new candidates are expressing interest in MS and PP. Perhaps if I more vocal during alpha and beta tests beyond "this won't fly if it didn't convert old data."

Can you ask the question another way? I'm not sure I understand what you are trying to do.